Picture
2 good noses: fleece and foam, sports ball
Yes, I am on to talking about building noses! This is something that probably won't come in any pattern that you buy. It's time to get creative and do some problem solving. The person who I am building this puppet for requested a large oval nose. As you know, you can't go to the "puppet store" and buy an oval shaped yellow nose. So, remember those leftover foam pieces? This'll be the time for using some. The pictures below show you the steps I usually go through to make a nose. If you are going for a small round nose, you could get a small yellow foam ball from your local sporting goods store. (These also work great for eyes!)

Picture
I draw the size and shape I want the nose
Picture
I cut it out roughly with a sharp utility knife and scissors
Picture
I carve it (this takes quite awhile!) with an embroidery scissors
Picture
I make a pattern for my fleece with a piece of paper towel
Picture
I hand sew it all around
Picture
Until it is finished. (The seam mostly disappears, I help a little by picking gently with the needle)
Jim
1/26/2012 01:41:38 am

I'd be interested in knowing more about how you made the pattern for the nose using a paper towel, if you have space in your blog schedule for a special edition :)

Reply
1/26/2012 09:35:06 am

Sure, Jim! I'll try to explain it better here.
After I finish carving the foam of the nose to the shape I like, I mark the middle of the foam with a marker where I think the seam would be best (visually cutting in half the long way around). Then, I place a paper towel over the top of it and pin it to the foam so I can trace the line onto the towel. After taking the towel off, I cut 2 pieces of fleece out from the paper towel pattern.

Reply



Leave a Reply.