Picture
The mouthplate is the most important functioning part of the puppet. It really is the heart of the puppet, where all the life comes from. It needs to be easy to manipulate.  Each puppet builder has their own preferred way of building a mouthplate. I build this mouth from very heavy cardboard (it's from an artist canvas). I place the two halves of the cardboard a little ways apart, then tape them together with masking or gaffers tape. Then, I glue the cardboard piece into the foam. All this will be glued to the inside of the fleece mouth- which I will show you on the next post. :)

Picture
Parts all ready to assemble mouthplate
Picture
Taping the halves together before gluing into the foam piece for mouthplate.
2/24/2012 07:22:37 am

Thanks for sharing the intel. Great content I've found here.

Reply



Leave a Reply.