Picture
I have struggled in the past experimenting with all different sorts of glue, amount of time to allow to dry, and how much glue to apply!
There is no one perfect way to build a puppet- I believe most builders experiment and find their particular favorite ways of doing things. It's part of the process- I find it fun to be able to figure out something or discover a new way of doing a step.
I have included a picture here of how I glue foam parts together. Lightly applying to both sides with a scrap piece of foam, then allowing only about 15-20 minutes to dry for the contact cement seems to work well for me. I apply the glue to all the different pieces in one setting- because usually by the time I am done putting the glue on the last piece, the first piece has had enough time to dry to stick together.

Picture
After the glue dries, I line up the edges and squeeze the two parts of the foam together. I've found that using a hand on either side gives me more control. I usually hold the parts together for 10-15 seconds until I can feel that the glue takes hold.

1/22/2012 03:32:18 am

This is my favorite part! Okay, maybe I'm weird but I love sticking the pieces together! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.