Picture
Tonight I'm getting one of the arms attached to the furry monster puppet. I have sewn the arm pieces up, but not the hands yet. This is because I will be inserting the foam piece tomorrow that will give the hand more bulk. I first cut the foam piece into two halves. Then I apply contact cement on both halves. While waiting for the cement to dry, I work on bending a heavy gauge wire into finger shapes. This will allow the puppets fingers to be poseable, and to look as if he is "holding" small objects. After I place the wire on top of one of the halves, I place the other half on to that. I let them dry overnight with a couple heavy books holding them together.
Now onto the arm! I use doll joints to attach my puppet arms. I hot glue the retaining ring into the arm. Next, I make a very tiny hole in the shoulder area that I slide the shoulder bolt through. This attaches very securely into the ring. Tomorrow we'll talk about how to do this puppets tongue, and also a bit more about teeth that I have built in the past.

Picture
getting everything all set to arm a puppet
Picture
shaping the wire to the foam for the hand
Picture
preparing to glue the retaining ring into the arm
Picture
the arm after gluing the retaining ring in
Picture
the shoulder with the part of the bolt that sticks out, all ready for the arm
2/24/2012 08:08:55 pm

This is how I like to do arms as well. I haven't worked on puppets in several months but I have some ideas swarming around in my head. I hope I get to work on it soon! I'm having withdrawals!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.